ELSEVIER

Contents lists available at ScienceDirect

Journal of Fluorine Chemistry

journal homepage: www.elsevier.com/locate/fluor



Editorial

The laureate of the International Moissan Prize 2009 is Herbert W. Roesky, Professor of Chemistry at the Institute for Inorganic Chemistry, Gottingen University, Germany



Herbert Roesky's research works are characterized by outstanding contributions in many fields of chemistry, including molecular inorganic chemistry, metal-organic chemistry, and solid state chemistry. An important part is devoted to the preparative chemistry and structural investigations of metal-organic fluorides, such as (Cp*MF₃), M = Ti, Zr, Hf, having only one organic group. Prof. Roesky was the first to prepare (R₂TiF₂)₃Al and (R₂TiF₂)₃Ti by the reduction of R₂HF₂ using Al and Ti metals. This class of compounds combines impressively Werner coordination chemistry with metal-organic compounds by stabilizing molecular solids that are closely bound to metal-organic fluorides. More than 1100 peer-reviewed papers, articles, patents, and books record his outstanding research activities in Inorganic Chemistry and

Material Sciences. Member of several European Academies, Herbert W. Roesky is also the recipient of several prizes, including the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, the Alfred Stock Memorial Prize, the Grand Prix de la Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie, the Wilkinson Prize and ACS awards in Inorganic and Fluorine Chemistry.

The International Moissan Prize was created after the Paris 1986 Centennial Symposium to commemorate Moissan's isolation of elemental fluorine in 1886, and to stimulate research in the fields of fluorine chemistry. Since that time, the prize has been attributed every three years at the opportunity of the International Symposium on Fluorine Chemistry. From 2006 the Prize is sponsored by the "Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie" that gives a perennial structure to this prestigious award. The 2009 diploma was presented to Herbert Roesky during the Opening Ceremony of the 19th International Symposium on Fluorine Chemistry on August 24th in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA. The laureate also presented a lecture on 7th October 2009 in Paris on the occasion of a symposium organized by the "Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie". During this conference, he received from Prof. Bernard Bigot, General Administrator of the Atomic Energy Agency, President of the Foundation and Chairman of the Scientific Committee of the Prize, the monetary award and the 2009-Moissan Prize medal especially engraved for this occasion.

Alain Tressaud¹
University Bordeaux 1, Institut de Chimie de la Matiére
Condensèe de Bordeaux – CNRS, 87 Avenue du
Docteur Schweitzer, 33608 Pessac, France
E-mail address: tressaud@icmcb-bordeaux.cnrs.fr

¹Administrator of the International Henri Moissan Prize.

Available online 27 November 2009